Mobilne Logo Ministerstwa Zdrowia

The National Council for Accreditation of Nursing and Midwifery Schools


The National Council comprises 12 members, appointed and discharged by the minister relevant for healthcare from among the candidates proposed by the nursing and midwifery schools, as well as by the self-government of nurses and midwives, and by professional associations and organisations of nurses and midwives. The term of office of the National Council shall last 4 years.

The scope of responsibilities of the National Council:

  1. assessing whether a higher education institution applying for the accreditation of nursing or midwifery studies fulfils the educational standards, as specified in the provisions enacted under the Act of 27 July 2005 – Law on Higher Education;
  2. assessing on an ongoing basis the fulfilment of educational standards by particular schools, including especially through school inspections and educational result analyses;
  3. applying to the minister relevant for healthcare for accreditation, or for withdrawal thereof in the case of failure to fulfil the educational standards required.

The accreditation for nursing and midwifery studies is conditioned on ensuring:

  1. implementation methods of the training programme,
  2. teaching staff,
  3. teaching tools, including clinical training tools,
  4. the internal educational quality assessment system.

The minister relevant for healthcare grants the accreditation upon completion of the accreditation procedure by the National Council. The accreditation can be granted for a period of 3 to 5 years. The accreditation granted is confirmed by a certificate issued by the minister relevant for healthcare.

Ministry of Health

The Ministry of Health is an office of government administration serving the Minister of Health.

read more
Top of the page